A Tradition of Innovation


About Us

The Marion County Board of Supervisors adopted a resolution on January 23, 1989 to create the Marion County Development Commission (MCDC). The commission was created to promote Marion County in areas of economic development, tourism and recreation. The first commission members included the following individuals:

  • Sally Vander Linden, Pleasantville
  • Richard Jellma, Knoxville
  • Don Fuerhoff, Knoxville
  • Jan Conway, Knoxville
  • Duane Jones, Bussey
  • Don Lang, Melcher-Dallas
  • Phil Visser, Pella
  • Barb Butler, Pella
  • J. Wayne Bevis, Pella
  • Jay Brooks, At-Large
  • Gerald Dowell, At-Large

During its early history, the MCDC assisted in several projects including the Guest Housing Brochure, Volksweg Trail, TrailFest, 2015 County Meeting, Cordova Park Cabins and Trash Bash. In 1996, with the assistance of a $37,000 grant from the Iowa Department of Economic Development, the MCDC hired its first Executive Director. With the addition of full-time staff, the MCDC became the administrator of the Leadership Red Rock program.

The Marion County Coal Mining History video was created in 1997 while the MCDC started publication of a travel guide in 1998. In 1999, the MCDC initiated a process to create a 20-year Marion County Recreation Plan. During the spring of 2000, the MCDC launched the www.redrockarea.com web site.

The Iowa Tourism Office and Travel Federation of Iowa have recognized Marion County for the following awards:

  • 1996, 1998, 2001, 2003 and 2005 Iowa Tourism County of the Year
  • 1998, 2002 and 2004 Top Consumer Brochure (population 20,000 and up)
  • 2000 and 2004 Hospitality Award
  • 2006 Technical Marketing Award

In addition, during 2002, the Professional Developers of Iowa awarded the MCDC the top honors for Internal Communications and Brochure. The MCDC was responsible for Marion County being selected by MyEntreNet as one of the first pilot counties for this program in 2006.

The Marion County Development Commission is a department of county government whose 11 commissioners are appointed for three-year terms on a rotating basis by the Marion County Board of Supervisors. The Marion County Development Commission meetings are generally held the 3rd Friday of each month (except August) at 7:15 a.m. at various locations around the county. The MCDC Office is located on the first floor of the historic Marion County Courthouse.

Interactive Map